Joost Experiments with Live Video

Joost

I haven’t talked much about Joost on StuffWeLike. One of the reasons for that is that I don’t particular like their service. It has a crappy user interface with a catalog of videos that never seem to update, at least they never did when Joost first launched.

Today I received an email about testing Joost live video. It definitely caught my attention because it’s P2P live streaming video. On Thursday, March 13, at 2 p.m. EDT, 6 p.m. GMT public testing begins. Three simple steps and you can test their video:

1. Go to Joost.com and download the newest version of Joost.
Install it.

2. At 2 p.m. EDT (11 a.m. PDT, 6 p.m. GMT, 7 p.m. CET),
start Joost, and go to the Joost LIVE Test category.
Launch the Leiden LIVE P2P channel.

3. Start watching. (If you want, go to My Joost -> Channel Chat
to see who else is watching with you.)

This test will show video interviews with the people behind Live streaming video on Joost. If all goes well soon enough we may be able to watch live sports being broadcasted on Joost. Now that’d be tight.

Advertisements