Brutal Legend Soundtrack is out

Brutal Legend’s release is edging closer every passing day, and news on it just keeps pouring out. For instance, EA Denmark accidentally slipped the game’s soundtrack yesterday. Tim Schafer himself, confirmed the list today and it is… pretty damn metal.

I’m not a huge fan of heavy metal music myself. I like it fine, but mostly the classics. Sabbath, Motorhead, Crue, Priest, stuff like that. The list however still fits a lot of bands that, even though I haven’t heard many of their songs, I know them, and there are A LOT of bands here,

A few highlights, besides the aforementioned bands, are Dragonforce, Iced Earth, Def Leppard, Anvil(also known for their documentary that came out recently), Megadeath, Mastodon, Rob Zombie, and Slayer.

A great addition, which is slightly with in the game’s musical theme, is Tenacious D, also known as Tenac or just The D. If you’re not familiar with the D you’re at least familiar with one of the band members, Jack Black. The choices they made are relatively simple. One is The Metal and the other isMaster Exploder, both of which are pretty heavy with metal influences.

There is one really surprising lack in the list though. At Comic-con Double-Fine had a pretty big concert that featured a band so very thick with metal, Gwar. The band has the tendency to dress up in these giant costumes which makes them look like a bunch of enemies out of Brutal Legend itself.

During the concert they played songs, sure, but they did much more than that. They decapitated someone with a sword. Well, not really decapitated them, it was a prop, but it sprayed the entire audience with fake blood. As I’ve read, having not gone to the ‘con myself, they also pissed on the audience as well, again fake.

With Gwar doing a concert, in what might arguably be farthest from their target demographic as possible, and I would expect some involvement with the game’s soundtrack from them. There is none, but it might be a choice of taste here.

Here’s the full soundtrack:
* 3 Inches of Blood – Deadly Sinners
* 3 Inches of Blood – Destroy The Orcs
* Accept – Fast As A Shark
* Angel Witch – Angel Witch
* Anthrax – Metal Thrashing Mad
* Anvil – March of the Crabs
* Anvil – Tag Team
* Apostasy – Sulphur Injection
* Bishop of Hexen – A Serpentine Grave
* Bishop of Hexen – The Somber Grounds of Truth
* Black Sabbath – Children of the Grave
* Black Sabbath – Symptom of the Universe
* Black Sabbath – Never Say Die
* Brocas Helm – Cry of the Banshee
* Brocas Helm – Drink the Blood of the Priest
* Budgie – Breadfan
* Budgie – Zoom Club
* Candlemass – Witches
* Carcass – No Love Lost
* Cloven Hoof Nightstalker
* Children of Bodom – Angels Don’t Kill
* Coroner – Skeleton on your Shoulder
* Cradle of Filth – Her Ghost in the Fog
* Crimson Glory – Queen of the Masquerade
* Dark Fortress – Insomnia
* Dark Tranquility – Cathode Ray Sunshine
* Deathstars – Blitzkrieg
* Def Leppard – Rock of Ages
* Dethklok – Mermaider
* Diamond Head – Am I Evil?
* Dimmu Borgir – Progenies of the Great Apocalypse
* Dokken – Mr. Scary
* Dragonforce – Through the Fire and Flames
* Emperor – Thus Spake The Nightspirit
* Enslaved – Frost
* Enslaved – Loke
* Firehouse – Overnight Sensation
* Girlschool – Bomber
* Iced Earth – When the Night Falls
* Iced Earth – Pure Evil
* In Flames – Goliaths Disarm Their Davids
* Judas Priest – Battle Hymn
* Judas Priest – The Hellion/Electric Eye
* Judas Priest – Leather Rebel
* Judas Priest – One Shot At Glory
* Judas Priest – Painkiller
* Kabbage Boy – Girlfriend
* KMFDM – Free Your Hate
* KMFDM – Rip The System
* King Diamond – Cremation
* King Diamond – Welcome Home
* Kiss – God of Thunder
* Lita Ford – Betrayal
* Marilyn Manson – Beautiful People
* Manowar – Die For Metal
* Manowar – The Dawn Of Battle
* Mastodon – Crack the Skye
* Mastodon – Oblivion Instrumental
* Megadeath – High Speed Dirt
* Megadeath – Tornado of Souls
* Metal Church – Metal Church
* Michael Schenker – Group Assault Attack
* Ministry – Stigmata
* Ministry – Thieves
* Mirrorthrone – So Frail
* Motley Crue – Dr. Feelgood
* Motley Crue – Kickstart My Heart
* Motley Crue – Live Wire
* Motorhead – Back at the Funny Farm
* Motorhead – In the Black
* Motorhead – Marching Off to War
* Motorhead – We Are the Road Crew
* Nitro – Machine Gun Eddie
* Omen – The Axeman
* Ostrogoth – Queen of Desire
* Overkill – World of Hurt
* Ozzy Osbourne – Believer
* Ozzy Osbourne – Mr. Crowley
* Ozzy Osbourne – Diary of a Madman
* Prong – Snap Your Fingers, Snap Your Neck
* Quiet Riot – The Wild and the Young
* Racer X – Technical Difficulties
* Racer X – Y.R.O.
* Ratt – Lay It Down
* Riot – Road Racin
* Riot – Narita
* Riot – Swords and Tequila
* Rob Zombie – Superbeast
* Rotting Christ – Ad Notics
* Running Wild – Riding the Storm
* Sanctuary – Battle Angels
* Savatage – Hall of the Mountain King
* Saxon – Wheels of Steel
* Scorpions – Blackout
* Scorpions – Holiday
* Skeletonwitch – Soul Thrashing Black Sorcery
* Skid Row – Youth Gone Wild
* Slayer – Metal Storm/Face The Slayer
* Slough Feg – Warriors Dawn
* Static-X – Love Dump
* Tenacious D – Master Exploder
* Tenacious D – The Metal
* Testament – For The Glory Of
* Testament – More Than Meets The Eye
* Tvangeste – Birth of the Hero
* UFO – Rock Bottom
* Whitesnake – Still of the Night
* Wrath of Killenstein – Ignisis Dance

Kotaku on the EA Denmark Soundtrack slip

One thought on “Brutal Legend Soundtrack is out”

  1. Most epic soundtrack I’ve ever seen, appears to represent practically every sensible metal genre out there (was surprised to see the likes of Dimmu Borgir or Bishop of Hexen). Sad to see no Iron Maiden love though. 🙁

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.